Chapter 20 – Last full day of the Big Canadian Adventure

As today was our last full day in Canada, we spent the morning packing our bags. I felt sad about this as I couldn’t pretend that this fantastic holiday wouldn’t end any more and I found myself staring out of the window at the lovely view, knowing that I will soon be looking out at a view of a busy street and the houses opposite…probably through horizontal drizzle.

After breakfast (more blueberry waffles with maple syrup), I played in the garden with Catrin for a while. We saw a little garter snake slide over the path and peek at us suspiciously from a gap in the wall and, moments later, we saw several frogs hopping around on the lawn (Catrin copied them and nearly squashed one of the frogs with some over-enthusiastic hopping). The chipmunks chased each other up a tree and the black squirrels scuttled about… It was a lot more interesting than watching the British snails devouring my tomatoes.

Suspicious snake
Suspicious snake

We took the girls to visit our host’s work colleagues at lunchtime…Catrin chatted to everyone in her southeast London accent and Bethan grinned at everyone. Apparently they were both very ‘cute’. I then printed off the last of the holiday photos and finished a scrap book/ photo album of our visit by way of a thank you gift for our hosts, while Catrin and her Daddy took a last dip in the pool in the hot sunshine.

In the evening we went out for our final dinner; an immense buffet meal at Mandarin restaurant in London. I ate so much that it was very difficult to move afterwards. Bethan devoured her own body weight in bread and creme caramel, but looked like she could eat even more. It is maybe a good thing that I will be home soon, where I usually don’t have time to eat much, before I end up the size of a 5-bed detached (rather than a small condo) and before my 8-month-old daughter starts borrowing my clothes to wear.

More pudding
More pudding

I waddled out into the garden after putting monster baby to bed to see the last few lonely fireflies flashing their backsides at the darkness and a sky full of bright stars. As I listened to the crickets chirping away, I realised, in horror, that I have to go back to work in 4 days. I know I will look back at this summer and remember it as one of the best summers I have ever had and I don’t want it to end.

Leave a Reply

