Sunset in Rio

Pondering our small world (or maybe considering preferred nighttime apparel)
Pondering our small world (or maybe considering preferred nighttime apparel)

As the football World Cup was forced upon me at home last night, I happened to see the images of the sunset in Rio behind the Christ the Redeemer statue being beamed live to my TV. I noticed that the sun was also setting over southeast England at the same time. This, on the face of it, seemed odd as there is a time difference between Rio and England of 4 hours, but the sun must have set at the same time due to the difference in latitude.

When I took Catrin up to bed and we saw the sunset through the blinds, I had a sudden feeling that the world is actually very small as, thousands of miles away, millions of people were looking at exactly the same thing. I tried to explain this concept to Catrin but she gave me a ‘what on earth are you babbling on about’ look and requested her Gruffalo pyjamas.

Leave a Reply

