Shiny buttons and smelly bottoms

In your face, Mister Maker!
In your face, Mister Maker!

Tomorrow evening Catrin will be spending time with her Grandma while I have an ‘unusual’ night out with my husband (I’ll write more on that tomorrow) and so we decided that Catrin and I would make Grandma a present to say thanks for looking after her. Catrin closely examined a necklace I was wearing (nearly garrotting me in the process) and declared that she wanted to make a necklace for Grandma. In a ‘seemed like a good idea at the time’ moment (possibly inspired by ‘Mister Maker’ which was on CBeebies at the time) I suggested a necklace made of buttons. This started well and Catrin enthusiastically selected the buttons she wanted to include, but an hour or so later my husband returned home to find me working on a bracelet (Catrin insisted we extend the product range), with buttons strewn across the floor and Catrin relaxing in the sofa, issuing orders occasionally.

Whilst I continued to attempt creativity with buttons my husband noticed a pungent odour drifting from the direction of Bethan. All jewellery manufacturing ceased in order to deal with the poo tsunami (poonami)…Bethan’s vest had to be cut off in order to avoid further spreading during the clean-up operation. Luckily a poo-in- hair situation was narrowly prevented; it never ceases to amaze me how much nappy filler such a tiny person can emit in one go.

My husband suggested dinner out (maybe to escape the lingering pong) and we set off for Bluewater in the car with the Frozen soundtrack CD blaring and Catrin singing along at the top of her voice. On a section of dual carriageway:
“Daddy, why do you keep going faster? Let it goooo, let it goooooo…”
Daddy explained that he was within the speed limit.
“But you are driving to quickly…I saw the wheels go faster! Narny nonee nar the dooooor…”
Daddy, once again, explained his perfectly lawful driving choices. His protestations fell on deaf ears and Catrin merely replied “let it goooo let it goooooooooo!”‘

After Catrin had devoured the pepperoni on her pizza (but, of course, not the pizza itself) and Bethan had gummed the edges of the high chair we did a quick spot of retail therapy. Catrin had a particularly fruitful shopping session and came away with a new pair of sandals, a pair of ‘Frozen’ pyjamas and a ‘Frozen’ swimming costume. The Disney Store had clearly just had a delivery of merchandise and the Frozen section was being frantically ransacked by crazed parents. We were lucky to time our visit perfectly as I am certain that everything on those rails and shelves would have been snapped up within the hour. Catrin was delighted with her loot and I can foresee problems getting her out of the new pyjamas and into day clothes in time for preschool tomorrow morning…I might even have to resort to bribery…or send her to preschool in her swimming costume…

 

3 thoughts on “Shiny buttons and smelly bottoms

  1. ..”but an hour or so later my husband returned home to find me working on a bracelet (Catrin insisted we extend the product range), with buttons strewn across the floor and Catrin relaxing in the sofa, issuing orders occasionally.” ..loved this part…happens with me too

Leave a Reply

