‘Frozen’ addiction and chinstrap penguins

My eldest daughter is suffering from an addiction to ‘Frozen’. She re-enacts each moment with her dolls as she watches the film and sings along with all the volume and enthusiasm of an uninhibited X Factor applicant. I have decided not to be too concerned about this at the moment as it seems to stimulate her imagination and she is fond of the ‘good characters’ and tells off the ‘naughty man’ (Hans) when he gets his comeuppance. She likes Kristoff (or Pissedoff as she calls him)…maybe I will buy her a Pissedoff doll for Christmas (Pissmas) as he seems like a good sort.

This week my youngest has moved onto eating baby porridge (fruity porridge -Aldi brand, mixed with milk- my own brand). She shovels it down faster than those chaps on ‘The Island with Bear Grylls’ scoffed their first fish which didn’t taste like poo. I was hoping that the first steps towards non-mush food would maybe help her to sleep slightly longer between feeds at night…sadly, this has not turned out to be the case so far. I’m sure I’m not alone in wondering how my baby can be awake for most of the night and still have enough energy to leap around in her door bouncer in the manner of a tiny, demented Irish dancer on too much Redbull. I think that mystery energy would be a worthy subject for research investment, rather than working out how far a chinstrap penguin can defaecate, for example (40cm, by the way, according to “Pressures Produced When Penguins Pooh – Calculations on Avian Defaecation”, Polar Biology 2003).

Leave a Reply

